Going positive.

Lately I’ve been feeling a bit negative. Uni has started up again, leaving me with less free time, and more work to do. Work has stepped up again, and I’m finding very little there to keep me interested  or motivated. My gym still doesn’t have any kickboxing classes I can attend, and as a result of that and stress I’m getting very little sleep.

All of this has had me trapped in a nasty mindset, example – I hate the bus. Uni blows. I hate my job. I should quit. Why bother it’s all just going to go down hill because I’m getting old. I’m so old all my muscles hurt. Old people need more sleep in the mornings. I hate having to get up. I’m only going to spend the rest of my life in admin hell anyway. Why bother finding clean clothes for that? And I’m never going to be allowed a puppy. – all before 8am this morning. (I’m just a beam of gleaming, life-filled sunshine in the mornings…)

So I thought I’d spend some time today reminding myself of things I love:

  • Wiggling my fingers under the sand to attract fish.
  • Cantering bareback on horses.
  • Eating gherkins.
  • Smelling freshly popped popcorn.
  • Owning a computer (Come back, Marvin!)
  • Wearing my dobok.
  • Roundhouse kicks.
  • Equalising.
  • Fixing someone elses computer problem.
  • Figuring out how to make my computer do something that I didn’t think it could.
  • Making conversation with the old people who call our office phone.
  • Hour long baths with yummy smelling products. And a book. Also a small bag of M&M’s and a big glass of chilled water.
  • Having people believe the stories I make up.
  • Cranberry Juice.
  • The sound of my boxing glove slamming into a pad when I do a right hook.
  • My boxing wraps.
  • Catching up with friends.
  • Connecting with new people.
  • Knowing I did well.
  • The Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra.
  • Beating the photocopier into submission when no one else can.
  • Winning stuff.
  • Free stuff in general.
  • House, Bones, and Boston Legal.
  • Putting up the Xmas tree.
  • Wrapping gifts.
  • Getting my hair cut or coloured.
  • Giggling.
  • Dreaming interesting dreams.
  • Getting letters and packages.
  • Waking up slowly on weekends.
  • Waking up early on weekends when Ben’s over.
  • Walking dogs.
  • Cats purring.
  • Taking photos.
  • Knowing where my phone is.
  • Neatly packing boxes.
  • Fresh sheets.
  • Laughing with Mum when she tells me gossip.
  • Doing Dad stuff with dad when I visit home.
  • Running through kickboxing combos in my head instead of counting sheep.
  • Finding a new hobby.
  • Neck and shoulder rubs.
  • Hugs.
  • Learning New things.
  • Helping someone else learn new things.
  • Cold water, after standing for 1/2 an hour in the sun in a wet suit.
  • Lukewarm showers.
  • Biting into Kit Kat chocolate bars.
  • Old jeans.
  • Romance Novels.
  • Watching other people dance.
  • Going to the theater.
  • Seeing the circus.
15 thoughts on “Going positive.

  1. awww…that list cheered me up no end (bad day). thanks for putting things in perspective!

  2. annoying that the gym still hasn’t come through for you Shannon – grrrr!

    my favorite faceted glass ring slipped off my hand today in the bathroom and smashed on the tile floor…….FFUUUUUUUCK

  3. Have a look in the chemist or a health shop for Rescue Remedy, someone reccomended it to me last week and it seems to help when I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed (which is daily atm, damn uni!)
    Crap about the wallet!

  4. I do the same kind of list too, especially when I’m feeling down. It helps me take perspective of what I have and be thankful.

  5. Ben just put it in her glass of chilled water when she has her bath, she will never know and will think you were just so sweet getting her her water 🙂

  6. Awh the simple art of drugging….
    Love the list. Hope someone honest finds your wallet for you and forwards same to the Police.

    Who loves ya Babe….everyone listed above!

  7. Hey guys. Thanks for the tip on rescue remedy… I’m kind of a non-believer… but I’ll give it a go I guess. Maybe. We’ll see.

    And Ben… No drugging me. (We would both know something was up if you came all the way out to Miramar to hand me a glass of water while i was in the bath though.)

    Mintea, this list thing is pretty awesome.. Worked better than some ‘all natural’ ‘rescue remedy’ could I’ll bet…

    Dad, yeah fingers crossed… I’ve left my number and stuff with the bus company an I’ll cancel my cards today with the bank.

  8. Oh ok. So when it’s Ben who suggests it, you don’t want to hear a thing. Suddenly Adey comes along and hey, yeah, Rescue Remedy, of course!

  9. cant hurt Shan, theres no side effects and doesnt taste strong unless you take it straight!

  10. cant hurt Shan, theres no side effects and doesnt taste strong unless you take it straight!
    PS Ben of course she listened to me and not you. Its simple. I’m awesome. haha

Leave a Reply

