Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

30 Days of Truth

Dear… Um, reader?

Listen, I’m going to be honest (considering, this is the thirty days of truth that’s probably going to be for the best, right?) I’m not really a big music person.

Or I guess… Sometimes I am, but not really… I don’t really get into music the way other people seem to.

I LIKE music. I love Amanda Palmer, and the Dresden Dolls… And I really like classical Cello music – I could listen to Bach’s Unaccompanied Cello Suites over and over again (and according to iTunes, I do.)

Train, Jet, Pink, Roisen Murphy, Regina Speckor, Garbage, Ludovico Einaudi, Jimmy Eat World, Yuksec, Anna Nalick, and Basement Jaxx all get huge plays on my iTunes playlists too…

But as for getting me through “some tough ass days”? Ah. No.

Chocolate gets me through tough ass days. Taekwon Do gets me though tough ass days. My friends get me through some tough ass days. Bach doesn’t Bach is just a nice way to finish a day. Any day.

So my letter is pretty much me admitting that yeah, music is nice, but it doesn’t come close to a Snickers bar.

Love, Shannon

5 thoughts on “Day 13 → A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.)

  1. When we got pregnant with our older son, we had this habit of having the baby listen to some music every day through some medium sized earphone speakers we placed on Wife’s belly.

    The music was always the same: Water Music from Haendel. We thought it would be good for the baby.

    As baby grew, things were not entirely right. Amniotic fluid was not being swallowed as it normally is, and the spectrum of explanations for this was rather, gloomy.

    Wife broke waters at 27 weeks, and things got really bad. We then found out he had an esophageal atresia and the ceaseran section had been a very complicated procedure, having left baby with a partial lack of oxygen. He had two intracraneal hemorrhages, one on each brain hemisphere.

    Baby, in ICU, had seizures all the time, and diazepam did not work. Neither did penthotal.
    The only thing I know is that when we smuggled a small tape recorder with Haendel and played it for him, seizures stopped.

    Doctor’s say Haendel had nothing to do at all with his recovery. We know Haendel pulled us all through the ordeal.

    About me, well, eighteen years have gone by, baby boy is now a bright young man pursuing a career as a CPA, and I have never been able to play Haendel again. But I know he pulled us through some bad ass 24 months.

    To this very day I know music heals, despite the fact that I lost Haendel for myself.

    Alex

    I’m so glad that everything ended well, though. It must have seemed like – after all those months of catastrophe, after disaster – that there was no way it could end with an 18 year old man, looking forward to a bright future.

  2. I have to say I like your Snicker bar therapy. 🙂 I generally only like to listen to upbeat music to get me moving around. Slower music makes me melancholy so I guess I don’t get into it like other people do either.

    Yeah, I listen to the slow stuff when I’m writing, because upbeat stuff gets me all distracted… Like when I’m supposed to be writing an essay, but instead I’m playing the air-drums and dancing in my bed.

  3. Some technical oddity prevents me from replying your “spider” post. Was it meant like that?
    Anyway, this is merely to comment that you absolutely crack me up.

    Especially the part where you took the time to read the product information. Hehehe! I would be so desperate that I’d throw the can at the dash thing, let alone read the product information. I’ve wrecked my place down fighting against a spider!

    I know that it’s a bit sloppy to comment here about a different post, but haven’t been able to do otherwise.

    Take care there Shannon and watch out for the spiders.

    Alex.

    Hm, nope it wasn’t meant like that… that’s so weird. I can’t even commnt on it, and I should be able to comment on everything….

Leave a Reply

