Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

30 Days of Truth

The Saddle Club, Number 11, Horse Wise, By Bonnie Bryant.

This was the book that changed my view on reading. I think my Mum gave it to me, and from the second I saw the blue cover, with the picture of Sampson in distress, being helped by Lisa, Stevie, and Carol? I was hooked like an addict taking her first hit of cocaine. (Only, WAY more dorky.)

It was the start of a beautiful friendship.

I read every single Bonnie Bryant book I could get my hands on.

These books were the foundation point for friendships when we moved towns, and schools. I managed to find at least one other horse-crazy friend in each new location, who I could awe with my collection, and swap reading material with to my heart’s content.

At each new school I’d check out the library at the first opportunity. The good schools had an entire shelf of horse-themed fiction. If it was a bad library I’d simply start re-reading my own collection. It got to the point where I could pretty much recite the words without reading them.

Bonnie Bryant was really only the beginning of my love of reading, but it’s a pretty damn memorable beginning – to this day I can remember every single reoccurring character, and which horse they rode, and who was best at jumping, or dressage… Yeah, definitely an addiction!!

What’s your favorite book/ author?


3 thoughts on “Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

  1. Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury.

    When the Royal Tennenbaums came out I nearly died.

    (I also loved Catcher in the Rye, but who didn’t.)

    -Bianca and the Girls with Prius Envy

    Hey Bianca and co, I have to admit? Ive never read Catcher in the Rye – OR the Royal Tennenbaums. I might have to check them out some time!

  2. Thank you! That was a beautiful post. And all the books neatly lined up, well, that’s the finishing touch..
    Due to our Time Zone difference (you’re sixteen hours ahead of me) I’m getting used to checking your new post of the day as one of the first morning activities, still at home before taking off to the office, and it’s always a breath of fresh air. 🙂

    Ok, today’s reply would be,without a doubt, “The Art of Loving” by Erich Fromm.
    No book has done so much for me as this one.
    He presents love as a skill, an art, something that can be taught and developed, and by no means something magical, not something that just “happens to you”.

    Let me tell you, this book is at least, an eye opener, and in some cases, it can contribute to turn your life around.

    I’ve always encouraged everyone to give that book a chance.

    I have to admit, I grabbed that image off somewhere on the internet… They’ve re-done all the covers of the Saddle Club books in recent years, and this was the only image I could find with the original covers!

  3. No favourite book. I could fill the page with the many books I’ve loved.

    Current favourite (popular) author: Michael Connelly

    Book what changed my life? None but Angela’s Ashes made me ever so grateful for everything I’ve got.

    Ooh, yes, I definitely remember reading Angela’s Ashes… And the Diary of Ane Frank – I think both of those woke me up, and pushed me to look outside myself, at some of the stuff I take for granted.

Leave a Reply

