Three Beautiful Things

1. Finding a blue helium balloon tethered to a pole on my way home from town on Friday night. I walked right past it, then thought “What?! Who walks past a perfectly good balloon!” So I went back and grabbed it.

2. Spending quality time with friends and family. Tis the season, and all that. It’s especially nice when that quality time includes quality cocktails, pecan pie, or awesome cooked breakfasts.

3. Fresh strawberries. Fresh berries in general. I love summer fruit – but mostly? I love strawberries.

Not so beautiful? I’ve been having a rough time lately. I find myself getting lost in the week again. Last week I convinced myself that it was ok to sleep all day, because I’d given myself permission, and I was really tired. Then Becks got off work early and I dragged myself out of my room feeling guilty.

If it was OK, I wouldn’t be feeling ashamed – like she’d caught me stealing from a church in the nude.

On top of that University work slipped too. I have an essay to write that I haven’t even started. The thought of doing it makes me so anxious that I’m actually shaking at the thought. The rock is back on my chest, and dread is a heavy cloak that snags against everything I pass. It’s no wonder I’m so fucking exhausted.

This weeks report card has a ‘Shannon must do better’ on it.

 

2 thoughts on “Three Beautiful Things

  1. And Shannon will do better, no matter how gloomy things seem to be today.

    This bright young woman sometimes forgets there is nothing she can’t accomplish. When she stops forgetting that, you’d better watch out because she’s gonna take the world by storm.

    And that essay thing? You can do that blindfolded girl.

    🙂

    Thanks for the pep-talk Ormie 🙂

  2. Agreed, but if you’re going to wear a blindfold; peek out from under it occassionally.
    If it was easy; everybody would be doing it! Hang in there girl. See you soon.

    Will do Dad 🙂 Sound advice, as usual – I’m not a touch typist. Blindfolds would make things more interesting than usual! Can’t wait to see you guys!

Leave a Reply

