Day 29 → Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

30 Days of Truth

Whoho!! Almost there! One more to go! (Although it’s a HARD one.)

Ok, so todays question… Hm.

I tend to be a ‘look before you leap’ kind of girl. I like to know exactly what I’m getting into. Caution is GOOD. But. Sometimes it means that I miss out on taking opportunities.

My first instinct is usually to say no to anything that’s a little bit risky – but in doing that I tend to have regrets later. Like the time a hairdresser out on the street trying to find a new model at late notice asked me if I wanted a free haircut. I instinctively said No, and carried on for a few steps before realising that: DUDE. You just said no to a FREE HAIRCUT. Without even asking any questions!

Unfortunately it was too late to go back and change my answer, because the girl behind me DID want a free haircut. Cow.

So I’d like to change my reluctance to jump into new things, I’d like to be more open to new experiences, and I’d like to have a more relaxed outlook on life – rather than instinctively seeing where all the problem areas are in every plan!

(But I’d also like to keep a healthy dash of caution in there, because nobody enjoys waking up in a bath full of ice, minus a kidney.)

 

7 thoughts on “Day 29 → Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

  1. I never look before I leap and it’s gotten me into trouble, but its also made for some exciting times. So far my kidney’s intact, but who knows what will happen tonight? Thanks for checking my blog out, I’ll be reading yours regularly!

    Hey Marty, thanks for stopping by 🙂 Your kidneys may be intact, but how is your liver? I hear that’s the new commodity item on the black-market these days!

  2. Wow, you said no to a free haircut? I was reading your archives the other day, and it looks like you LOVE free. I think you said somewhere that ‘free’ was your favorite word. It resonated with me, because it’s mine too – well, that and ‘chocolate’.

    Hi Sarah! Long time no see!
    I DO love free. Especially ‘Free Chocolate’. Can you imagine a happier combination of words??!! I can’t.
    In fact? I love free so much that I once nearly took up running, just because if I ran five k’s they’d give me a free teeshirt. Thankfully common-sense intervened.

    In other news, I was all ‘Man I have NO comments today, and then BAM everyone came out of the woodwork!

  3. It’s a learned trait/instinct.. pausing before answering.
    It’s right up there with thinking before talking..one which I still have to master.

  4. Oh gosh … we are kindred cautious spirits! I could even be guilty of being overly cautious. It’s a trait which definitely has both pros and cons. I venture out of my genetic box from time to time, but a free haircut offered on the sidewalk, probably not in this lifetime. I’m weird about my flop of a mop.

  5. One of my mottos has always been: “it is better to regret the things you’ve done, rather than those you didn’t do.”

    Not saying this has always ended in the best choices, but I have managed to live my life with very little regret.

    Trade you some “balls-out” for some caution?;)

  6. I’m with Nikki. Trust your gut but cut back on that hesitation and take some plunges. You never know unless you try. I loved this post and your list of things you love about yourself. What a great way to end the year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

