The Year of Frugality…

 

I wish my hair looked that good.

Oh god. I think the gym broke me. Like, seriously. I can’t move my legs, and my back keeps making this really unsettling crunching noise, and I’ve just discovered a muscle in my shoulder that I’m SURE wasn’t there yesterday.

On Friday, after I was done napping, and writing about how awesome New Years Eve was, I went to a Pump class, and did Sh’Bam, until my hair-tie broke, and set my unwashed-cave-woman hair free. I decided to leave because I HATE working out with my hair in my face. It gets all sweaty and in my eyes, and mouth.

Also? Unwashed cave woman hair was not an exaggeration. In fact? I’m pretty sure cave women used to at least brush their hair with sticks or wooden combs or something.

Then today Louise and I went to an Attack! class. (So much for easing back into it huh??!!)

It’s Attack! with an exclamation mark, because attack doesn’t quite convey the absolute devastation an Attack! class can wreak on your unsuspecting Christmas-ham body. Your unsuspecting-christmas-ham-body which has done nothing more stressful than walk and sightsee for the past two weeks.

Eish.

We had a sauna afterwards, because I – for one – could not see getting out of bed unassisted without a little bit of loosening up.

Then I came home and had the most blissful hot bath ever, and had a very good think about the future. I’ve been meaning to write about my goals, and I think I’ve finally managed to organise them in a way that I can share them…

The Next Six Months:

Grade to Blue Belt at Taekwon Do.
Do more bush walking, and hiking around Wellington.

Reduce my overdraft by half.
Pass one 300 level paper.
Replace my cross trainers (Which met an untimely demise)
Purchase the perfect dress for Leslea’s wedding.
Spend time on pampering myself, and giving myself what I need to be in a healthy state of mind.

The Next Twelve Months

Complete my BA in Political Science, and International Relations.
Step outside my comfort zone more often.
Reduce my overdraft to $0.
Save $700.
Find a job that moves me in the direction of Public Relations/ Communications/ Marketing. Or being a spy.
Have a healthy, fit, and active body, in the ‘normal’ BMI range.
Have a very good idea of my personal needs, and have habits in place to actively spend time getting what I need to be happy, positive, and healthy.

The Next Two Years

Get my Full NZ Drivers License.
Move overseas to Korea, Thailand, or Argentina.
Save $3000.
Grade to Red Belt Level at TKD.
Maintain healthy relationships with my family and friends, surround myself with amazing, successful, positive, intelligent people.

The Next Five Years

Travel through South America, Europe, Central America, and Parts of Asia.
Work on a Cruise Ship for at least 3 months.
Work at some kind of touristy Horse Trekking Ranch in America somewhere for 6 months.
Have an amazingly exciting once-in-a-lifetime job.
Purchase a house – or have a down payment ready for one.
Own a car.

The Next Ten Years

Puppies! Horses! Kittens! (I am completely, and utterly serious.)
Pay off my entire Student Loan.
Be in a settled long-term relationship with a guy who’s crazy about me, and I totally love and respect.
Work in a high-level job with great opportunities for professional development, and upward mobility.
Stay physically active, and committed to having a healthy body.

Yeah. So what do you think?? I decided to dream big. No maybes. In order to make it happen, I have to believe it can – I think that’s definitely the first step in achieving any of this!

It’s kind of scary now that I have a PLAN written down.  Writing things down makes them seem serious, and final.

I also have a key word for this year: Frugality.

Frugality is a means of cost reduction. It is the practice of acquiring goods and services in a restrained manner, and resourcefully using already owned economic goods and services, to achieve a longer term goal.

It’s kind of not what I usually choose – It’s a little less upbeat that my year of culture, of individuality, of learning new things… But I think it nicely encompasses my themes.

I’m being quite wide about how I’m going to apply it:

Naturally I am going to be frugal about my spending. I tend to spend money in a very chaotic way when I have it. I will start planing my purchases, sticking to my budgets, and working very hard on my overdraft. Last year I managed to wipe out my credit card debt, and I have equally high hopes for success this year.

I will be frugal about food. I’ll eat less of it all round – but in particular, I’ll eat less crappy food, and more healthy food. I’ll be aware of what I’m putting into my body, and I’ll spend time on installing good food habits.

I will be frugal about my time – meaning that I will be aware of how I am spending it, and whether that time investment is a good one – ie. University, study, the gym, and taekwon do activities are good use of time. Lying on the couch, reading trashy romance novels, and looking at amusing photos of cats on the internet is not.

I am going to be frugal about who I date – I’ve had a lot of hilariously bad dates. I deserve not to waste my time and energy on bad dating!

So what about you? Do you have a key-word for this year? Or a plan?

7 thoughts on “The Year of Frugality…

  1. Totally doable. Besides, you know the saying “Dream big or go home.”

    Also, frugality is a good thing. I believe we come to appreciate things more when there is less of it. I wish you the best as you begin your list. I think you’ve got this.

    Wow, a key-word for the year???

    I think I may have to blog about this… but it will require some thinking first.

  2. One step at a time Shannon!! Don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t knock off everything in your plan – some people don’t achieve all of those things in their whole lives so you’ll be doing well if you achieve them all in ten years.

    My personal theory is that you just have to get to a point in your life when you can accept who you are, where you are and what you’re doing and be happy with it.

  3. Humanitarikim: I always have a key-word for the year, I’ve never had an actual plan though. It’s quite the commitment!

    Kelly: I know I can’t sit down and do it all at once, but I do think it’s important to write down these goals as if they’re achievable. I’m not going to beat myself up if I don’t do one of these things in my set time-frame, but I don’t want to not work towards the possibility of achieving them either 🙂

  4. I wish you the best of skill, luck, drive, perservance and whatever else you need to kick the greatness out of all of those goals! I have a never ending list of home goals … i.e. dust, organize, hire a carpenter to replace my privacy fence, complete my bedroom project, clean out the attic, and the list goes on and on and on and on. I’ve been struggling with my personal goals … like finding lasting love and figuring out what to do with the rest of my life.

    Could I suggest a way to help you reach your financial goals which has always helped me? Save first (before spending) and automate the saving process by having it automatically deducted (not matter how small or large the sum you can save) and placed into a separate saving account. This so worked for me. I am among the unknown percentage of Americans who live debt free (including owning a home mortgage free) while earning an average income. I’m not rich by any means, but I have everything I need and rarely a want.

  5. You are one ambitious lady! I wish you all the best with your goals and am eager to see how they play out for you!

Leave a Reply

