Back to work.

Today is my first day back at work. Yeah. I was excited.

I chose my ‘back to work’ outfit (sombre black) and spent an hour flat-ironing my hair into shiny submission yesterday. I brought an easy ‘back to work’ breakfast and lunch. I knew that this morning would be too hard to do any of that stuff. Hell, it was all I could do to drag myself out of bed at 8.30 and shower.

I got to work on time (for once) and then I was PRODUCTIVE.

I cleared my inbox, and wrote itineraries, and made decisions, and organised workshops, and set deadlines.

Then I had a half-hour nap on the squishy old couch in the kitchen. I hope no one saw.

I also look good in my ‘back to work’ best. I have a question, though. If I’m the only employee in The Organisation, does it matter what I wear? I mean, technically, I could (and have been) in yoga pants, and so long as the emails keep going out the phone calles keep getting answered and the events keep getting organised, no one would even know!

It’s a bit like those ‘if a tree falls in the forest’ questions.

Hm. I think perhaps it does matter. I always feel better when I’m dressed for work.

Anyways, I’m going to have one last attempt at embedding a video. Things might go badly. I might throw stuff.

Ah! Nope can’t do it. Anyway. This is what I’m listening to at work today. And this.

Whoops, and I think we have an answer to that ‘if a tree falls in the forest’ thing. Yes, it matters that I’m dressed for work – one of the other organisation-offshoot dudes came in to check his email and open some mail.

I’m glad I didn’t wear the yoga pants.

6 thoughts on “Back to work.

  1. I embed videos regularly without much trouble. Here’s how I do it: On YouTube (or other video hosting site) copy webpage address. Then in WordPress Select “Add Video” icon > ” From URL”. Paste code. Select “Insert into post”. Voila!

    I hope that helps? 🙂

  2. Congratulations on choosing your work outfit in lieu of the yoga pants!!! Black is one of my favorite work colors. I’m not a bright eyed and bushtailed morning person, but I am usually able to kick my lazy side off one side of the bed, while I roll off the other side. Since stepping up my attention to my work wardrobe, I feel better throughout my work day, and heaven knows I need all the help I can get.

  3. *pfft* I don’t buy that whole dress professional thing. I know people who dress to the nines every day of the week and don’t do anything productive!

  4. I practice yoga and bike commute to work, so it’s handy that I have a shower in my building.

    Downside? I have a lot of crap/extra clothes in my office. Once my boss came by, and I didn’t realize til after he’d left that there was a bra left out. It was black with pink polka dots on the inside. Not so awesome.

Leave a Reply

