Really the issue here is the lack of LGBT movies in mainstream retail and movie rental places.

Guess what! Guess what! I figured out… How to do something illegal, actually. Hm. Should I be bragging about this on here?

Maybe not so much. But it’s pretty exciting.

I figured out how to download movies! Wo! It’s the best thing since sliced bread. Which? Actually wasn’t that big a revelation, because initially it being sliced actually made it go stale faster. It wasn’t until later when the packaging and preservatives were perfected that it became a huge hit.

So, technically, this is the best thing since bread packaging, and preservation methods were developed to a modern level, and the production of sliced bread became financially viable.

And while we’re on finance? It’s not like I was stealing from some retailer here… The only things I downloaded were some movies that I came across in the ‘gay and lesbian’ section at the local bohemian video store a few years ago.

The video store in question is the only one I’ve found so far with a section like it – the others don’t really seem to stock non-mainstream/ controversial LGBT movies. But the existence of a dedicated shelf for gay and lesbian movies (well labeled, and separated from all the other shelves) kind of made me question why we needed to separate ‘their’ movies from ‘our’ movies.

It’s not like I’m going to come across a Rom-Com featuring a lesbian couple in my regular ‘straight people’ section and be disgusted. Or worse. Converted.

So. Back on topic. I downloaded a couple that I really like – and totally would have paid for – because I couldn’t find anywhere in New Zealand that would sell them to me!! I know, because I looked!

I got Shelter, and Latter Days – which are actually on my top ten favorite movies ever list – and Trick which is notable for it’s inclusion of this hottie:

His name is John Paul Pitoc, and he spends a truly heroic amount of screen-time shirtless. He works as a Go-Go dancer in a seedy gay bar, so he also does a fair bit of shirtless – pantsless – dancing. And dudes? May I just say: Phwoor.

Much to my disapointment, he hasn’t really been in anything of note since this. (If I’m wrong – and I sincerely hope I am, because this man’s shirtless torso has great talent – please feel free to correct me.)

I’m also going to have to find a copy of Transamerica (Felicity Huffman is heartbreaking and dry, and funny as hell in this), and Hedwig and the Angry Inch, which I’ve been told is amazing (- but have yet to see, because, again it’s totally inaccessible through all my other more legal ventures!)

Oh. And also I had to find a copy of A Weekend at Bernies for one infatuated flatmate. I figured that was ok, though, because she has a genuine love for it, and it’s practically a million years old – ancient, almost. They’re pretty much giving it away.

Wait. It was produces in 1989. Which actually makes it younger than me. I’m going to go ahead and take back that thing about it being ancient.

In fact? A Weekend at Bernies is practically a spring chicken next to movies like Breakfast at Tiffanies, Sabrina, and Casablanca. (Which, if you’ve seen them lately, are still looking like the elegant old ladies they are.)

Hmm. Maybe I need to add a few more titles to my wish list!

4 thoughts on “Really the issue here is the lack of LGBT movies in mainstream retail and movie rental places.

  1. Hah ! Good luck w/ the downloads. This reminds me of how much I LOVE the soap Eastenders (trash, yes but love it). It’s hardly shown here in the US, and the eps we have are years older than what’s running currently in UK. Anyway, years ago when they pulled the show from our local public station, I was scrambling to figure out how to continue watching. People suggested I bit torrent it from the internet. My husband told me “Baby, the feds show up at our door and I’m handing you over.” Sweet, huh>? Needless to say, I found another way to watch.

  2. Hi. Good luck with your ‘downloads’. I live in the USA and UK (move between the two) and all I can say is be really careful where you download from. Apart from the legalities, there is the issue of viruses.

    \it seems you are in New Zealand. I thnk there is an Amazon new Zealand. They have a LARGE LGBT section in amazon from which you can buy or rent.

  3. “But the existence of a dedicated shelf for gay and lesbian movies (well labeled, and separated from all the other shelves) kind of made me question why we needed to separate ‘their’ movies from ‘our’ movies.

    It’s not like I’m going to come across a Rom-Com featuring a lesbian couple in my regular ‘straight people’ section and be disgusted. Or worse. Converted.”

    Amen, sister. There are some really lovely “their” (well, it’s me talking so now it’s really “my” I supposed) movies out there. There’s an indy one called “Love and Other Catastrophes” that I really liked – but haven’t seen it in a long time… and I’ve plugged this one before but only cuz it’s awesome: “Inlaws and Outlaws” – it’s more a documentary, but SO CUTE.

  4. I’m not sure why we really need labels at all. I’ve kind of been working on a blog post about the labeling. Basically, why do we need to approve “gay marriage?” Why can’t we all just be free to marry whomever we please? Do we need a “LGBT Movies” section? Why can’t they just be mixed in with the other movies? Do any of us really introduce our gay friends AS our “gay friends?” It’s all SO ridiculous! But, as long as the religious right continues along their current path, the labels are here to stay. I truly wish people would wake up & realize these groups are really just preaching discrimination.

    I’ll get off my soapbox now 🙂

Leave a Reply

