I’m thinking I should stop announcing this.

Flatmate 1: How was your day?

Shannon: I dropped a brick on my foot.

Flatmate 1: Wow. That’s pretty special.

Flatmate 2: How was your day?

Shannon: I dropped a brick on my foot!

Flatmate 2: …Ok…

Flatmate 1: I love how excited she is to tell everyone.

Louise: Can’t do lunch today, how about tomorrow?

Shannon: Ok. Also? I dropped a brick on my foot!

Louise: How?

Shannon: It’s either a long story, or a short story with actions.

Louise: I look forward to tomorrows presentation.

Pharmacy Dude: Let me guess, you’re here for a sprain.

Shannon: No. I dropped a brick on my foot. I’m here for a prescription.

Pharmacy Dude: Wow. A whole brick?

Shannon: I dropped a brick on my foot. It hurts. And now there’s a bruise.

Parental Unit: Where in the hell did you find a brick?

Shannon: I dropped a brick on my foot, and now I have a brick shaped lump of PAIN.

Taekwon Do Dude: Oh no! How’s the Brick?!

Shannon: Recovering slowly. I’m thinking of sending flowers.

Dear Internet,

Remember that time I dropped a brick onto my own foot? Yeah. Yesterday. I’m thinking I should stop telling people about that. Mostly because it makes me look ever-so-slightly mentally deficient.

Also? It’s really not that bad. It’s just that it’s the most exciting thing that’s happened to me since I blew up that crock-pot.

Also? I have this tendency, when I’m sick, to make it seem a lot worse than it is. Like, I’m miserable, therefore I must be vocal about it, and make everyone else miserable too. Louise and Karlie used to hate it when I came down with a cold when we all lived together, because I’d station myself in the lounge, and sniffle dramatically. Then every so often I’d allow a cough to wrack my body, and then I’d moan – just loud enough for people to hear me – just so that everyone understood how very sick I was.

I’m pretty sure the brick issue is simply an exertion of that. Now, If you’ll all excuse me, I’m going to go practice my heroic limp.

Regards,

Shannon. (Who dropped a brick on her foot yesterday.)

(Yes. A whole brick.)

(There’s a big bruise and everything.)

11 thoughts on “I’m thinking I should stop announcing this.

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I tell everyone about my random injuries too. Although I’ve never dropped a brick on my foot. It tends to be more “I cut myself with a coat hanger” (yes, I’ve actually done that. And it was my SHOULDER, no less!) – you get far less sympathy for that than a brick to the foot… 😉

  2. I think you should paint the brick and put it on exhibit. It is THE brick you dropped on your foot after all.

  3. I must have skipped over this part yesterday – so it’s good you brought it to my attention. Again. and again. and againn. Hope you’re feeling better soon. Those bricks – nasty business.

  4. On the bright side, the brick seems to be doing fine.
    😉

    This post was hilarious. I do the same thing when I get sick, but if you can’t milk it, what’s the point?

  5. The real question is: WHY haven’t you started a whole separate blog on this? Call it “Girl Meets Brick”, or something pithy like that. You could do posts from your point of view and posts from the brick’s point of view (“Oh, yeah? Your foot: boo hoo. I’m the one who got dropped from a great height for no reason. There I was, just minding my own brick-ly business. Sheesh. What did I ever do to you?”

    I’m just ‘sayin.

  6. I’m soooo sorry! Can I laugh now? Muahhaha ha aha haha hhhhhaaaaa. I’m not mean spirited, I just enjoy your hilarious posts!

Leave a Reply

