Brownies. And the time I exploded a slow cooker. (ACCIDENTALLY)

Hey all! I am bouncy and full of energy (and sugar?) today. Also busy like a bee with work stuff!

So, last night I made lamb shanks? Right? And they were DELICIOUS! there’s nothing quite like the way slow cooked lamb melts in your mouth. I cooked them with lots of vegetables (I love carrots) and beef stock, and a whole lot of garlic, and a huge handful of rosemary. I also chucked in a good handful of lentils, because… Well, why not? And then I dropped home between work and sweatyness, and decided that there was too much liquid, so I also dropped in a couple of handfuls of brown rice.

When I got home at quarter to nine, I was hungry enough to be gnawing the strap on my  sports bag. (Only, like, NOT because: GROSS.)

Anyway, I opened the door, and the smell of lamb and rosemary hit me so hard in the face I nearly floated up the stairs and into the kitchen like cartoon characters do.

Needless to say: I have impressed myself with my awesomeness in the kitchen.

I also impressed my flatmates – which is a nice change from the time I had to tell them that I’d blown up the slow cooker. That wasn’t much fun at all.

How does one blow up a slow cooker? I’m glad you asked. First I thought I’d save some dishes by browning the meat in the inner bit directly on an element. In my own defence, I didn’t realise how heat sensitive the ceramic-inner-pot thing would be. I mean, it’s kind of designed for cooking. You’d expect it to maybe NOT be sensitive to heat.

Anyway, it was going really well, the meat was browning nicely on the element. I was busy congratulating myself on saving the five minutes it would have taken me to wash a frypan.

Then the ceramic inner pot exploded into a million bits, sending sharp little slivers of shrapnel everywhere. The meat, and the little bit of oil on the bottom of the inner pot ended up directly in the element, and the oil caught fire.

So yeah. Dramatic.

Then I had to go on trademe and find a replacement before emailing Becks about how there was a very small unfortunate incident, but the fire did no damage, I was replacing the slowcooker as we spoke.

She confessed later that she nearly cried.

Anyway, this morning I amused myself by baking brownie. I have this really decadent no-egg brownie that I love making, and I decided to jazz it up a bit with coconut and a splash of rum (essence.) Then I made Coconut icing, and BAM I created Coconut Truffle Brownies! Yum.

If you want to try it at home the recipie is after the clicky bit.

Coconut Truffle Brownie

In a big bowl mix together:

  • 1 and a 1/2 cups of self raising flour
  • 3/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup White Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Coconut
  • Pinch of Salt

In a saucepan set on a medium-high heat, whisk together:

  • 1 and a 1/2 cups Water
  • 1/2 cup Wholemeal flour
  • 1 teaspoon Coconut essence
  • 1 teaspoon Rum essence
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla essence

When the flour/water mixture reaches a good gluey consistency, dump it into the dry incredients in your bowl, and add

  • 1 cup  Vegetable Oil.

Mix well, drop into a square baking dish and flatten (I use a thick glass casserole one, that’s about 25cm x 25cm x 6cm.) Bake on 180 Degrees Celsius for 20 minutes.

When it’s done, pull it out of the oven, and make up the coconut icing:

  • 1 cup icing sugar,
  • 1/4 cup Coconut
  • 2 tablespoons Butter
  • A few dropps of Coconut and Vanilla Essance
  • Hot water – roughly 2-4 tablespoons – measure it in slowly as you’re mixing the icing to make sure you’ve got a pourable, but not overly liquid consistency. ( I didn’t put enough water in mine, and it made for difficulty when it comes to spreading onto hot fragile brownie – hence you should be able to pour!)

Pour the icing over the Brownie WHILE IT’S STILL HOT. The hotness makes for deliciousness. I promise.

Cut into squares and NOM. (It’s good hot or cold.)

6 thoughts on “Brownies. And the time I exploded a slow cooker. (ACCIDENTALLY)

  1. Mmmmm, brownies.

    You know, my friend’s stovetop exploded once. It was a pain in the butt, because she had just sold her house and had to buy a new stove. All she did was sit a cold pan on a hot burner. I can only imagine the mess you had to deal with–and you totally deserved those brownies.

  2. You don’t want to ever microwave cookie dough on a paper plate. It catches on fire.

    Good to know about the slow cooker! Sharing information can cut down on kitchen disasters all over the world.

  3. The best cooks are the ones that flirt with danger. That’s why men like to BBQ: the risk associated with open flame makes us feel more manly. 😉

Leave a Reply

