A family tree exercise gone awry.

I would like to talk today about my family… I don’t have what you’d call a traditional family structure.

I mean, there’s my Mum, and there’s my Dad, and they have three kids together – obviously the best one is me.

But then my parents divorced a while ago, and are now both with new partners.

And those new partners were once married to OTHER partners.

And in those previous marriages both sets of partners had kids – kids who are all roughly the same age as me and my brothers.

And some of those kids? And my brothers? They have girlfriends and boyfriends. And of course we can’t forget the extended families, because with what is effectively three sets of parents, have 12 parents, untold numbers of siblings, and cousins and… Well, that’s just a very complicated thing to draw, let alone remember names for.

I’m going to go ahead and stop drawing this out, because I’ve run out of room, and because it is far too complicated for me tonight, considering I have this persistent headache that has been chipping away at my sanity since Tuesday night.

Anyway. The POINT of all of this is that my family… All of it… Is actually on remarkably good terms with… Everyone involved. When my parental unit separated in to two distinct separate units they did so in a way that means they can still spend time in a room together without throwing plates. Or knives.

It’s nice for us kids because it means that we can go to a BBQ at Mum’s place, with Dad, and Dad’s partner, and her kids, and while we’re there’ Mum’s partners kids and ex wife might show up, and that’s fine too.

It does, however make for a lot of people to organise when one of my brothers (Ryan… Um the one in the middle) decides he’s going to triumphantly return home from England girlfriend in tow…  His girlfriend called Shannon. Which, if you’re playing along from home: That’s my name too!! Originally I told her she’d have to change it, but surprisingly she didn’t go for that. Instead we’re just going to figure out another system.

This triumphant return has sparked many emails about road tripping, and journeying around the many domiciles of the Leaf Probably family.

It has also caused me – in particular – a LOT of confusion about exactly where I’m supposed to be when, and with whom.

Basically, my large family is apparently in need of a secretary to issue us all with individual itineraries!!

And och, my head is killing me. I think I might be coming down with the plague. Or terminal confusion.

6 thoughts on “A family tree exercise gone awry.

  1. Wowsers. And I thought *mine* was complicated because I have a much older half-brother who was given up for adoption when he was born and his adoptive parents split up and have new partners and blah blah blah. Yours trumps that! 😉

    Also? I love the new layout! 🙂

  2. I love complicated family business. Mine’s a disaster only because my parents got started late, and I’m closer in age to my cousins’ kids than to my cousins…which makes my cousins more like aunts and uncles, but I still have my aunts and uncles. Plus grandparents had a whop-ton (official measurement) of kids on both sides, so there is just, in general, A LOT of people involved.

  3. No confusion althought I did need to use the zoom function on the computer to see the small print. Mum and I are proud of the fact that we have been, and are still on great terms with each other. This is due, in no small part to our respective partners, who have been able to accept the circumstances dealt out and are willing to go with the flow. My favourite saying. “Don’t sweat the small stuff” lu

  4. LOL now wondering why you took a short cut and started with your father and myself instead of backing up and involving your Grandparents….you think you have a head ache now!!!!

  5. Haha! Must be the plague. 🙂 I would develope tha plague trying to follow all the ins-and-outs of the family trees as well.

    Love the greenary!

Leave a Reply

