Project awesome.

I’m glad to report that I’m slowly but surely aclimatising to regular working hours. And this week I’ve managed to not crawl right into bed the second I get home and sleep. Monday I did Zumba and Power with Louise, Tuesday I did a PT session, and a Spin class, and today I went for a long walk with Jeri and her dog Stella…. Of course I did have a 20 minute nap today right after work… But I’ve decided that it doesn’t count.

What I’m not adjusting to is the mornings. I still get up at 6.30am, and manage to get ready and leave on time. I even manage to arrive a good 15 minutes early every day, which gives me time to drink tea, read the news, and try wake up a little. (Or a lot.)

Thank god it’s payday tomorrow. I have a list of stuff a mile long that I need to do, and all of it involves me shelling out money.

Regionals are in a couple of weeks time for TKD, so I’m going to register to compete in patterns, same as always… and I’m not sure if I want to also sign up for breaking, and sparring. I guess I should give them a go, but I’m slow, and not very aggressive when it comes to sparring (and the ladies in my weight-division are tall and scary, and hit like sledgehammers), and my breaking needs a lot of work (and if I do it wrong I end up walking around with massive scary bruises on my feet and forearms.)

(Hello new colleagues, I am your new workmate, and I look like rambo today because I slammed my elbow and hand into a block of wood repeatedly over the weekend. Then I got punched in the face while sparring because I am too slow to get out of the way. Many times.)Β 

But then sometimes it’s not about winning (or bruises), sometimes it’s just about giving it a go… But then again, I hate looking like a giant retarded dork. So, there’s that.

In essence I don’t know. I can’t decide, and if I ask my instructor I know he’ll tell me to sign up for all three, because that’s how he rolls. So maybe I should go with that imaginary advice. Although if I asked my councillor, she’d say to do what I feel comfortable doing, which is patterns. But then if I asked Dad he’d probably tell me about how at the end of the day I’ll never know unless I give it a go, and I might surprise myself. If I asked Mum she’d probably advise me to go in the direction that leaves less visible bruising… And if I ask any of my new colleagues at work, they’d be all “Who are you, and why are you in my office?”

In other news I need to get project ‘Make Friends with New Workmates’ off the ground some time soon. I’m not very good at stuff like this, so I need to actually put a friendliness plan into action! I started by joining the social club last week, and today I asked a lady (who’s name I cannot remember) how her day was going, and had a conversation about lunch.

I hate being the new girl. Mostly because I am a bit quiet and reserved naturally, so I come off as a bit cold and unfriendly. Perhaps I should start wearing a button that says something like “Hello. I am Shannon. I would like to be your work friend.” Or perhaps I should start wearing a large conversation starter necklace. Or a pair of those curvy boots that are all the rage in Mexico dance parties at the moment..

I feel a brain-storming session coming on!

5 thoughts on “Project awesome.

  1. Um, I dunno. I tend to avoid things that have a 95% guarantee bruising policy. πŸ™‚ As far as work friendliness goes, I am pretty awesome at winning friends in an unfriendly work environment. the key is to be open to other people without trying too hard to find something in common. If you relax and just be the awesome gal you are, you’ll probably find out that you share a mutual love of soft centered cookies with someone. πŸ™‚ Boom! You have a work friend πŸ™‚

  2. I’ll be your work friend!

    PS couple things…

    1. While you may not be comfortable with breaking and sparring yet, stop using self-put-downs as reasons why you shouldn’t sign up for them! If you’re not comfy enough yet, that’s totally legit, but tearing yourself down as a reason is not. If you don’t sign up, make a decision to work on being ready to do those things – and leave the “but I’m not good enough” out of it!
    2. I, too, can come off as cold and unfriendly – I actually don’t like meeting new people either. Even though I love my friends. Weird, right? Guess we should both suck it up!

  3. In regards to the TKD – go for it! When it comes to sparring, just imagine something or someone you do not like and just go for it with all you got. πŸ™‚

    The bruising… well I so know what you mean. It took a while in my new job for people to realize that I am not a victim of domestic abuse. I am ALWAYS bruised after training down at the dojo – especially after sparring agains the lads who are 99% of the time much bigger than me (and with longer arms which is really unfair…) but I still have fun.

    Maybe the bruises could be a conversation starter? πŸ™‚ Asking people about lunch etc normally works as well. I know I tried that one.

  4. I suppose the real question is if you want to do breaking and sparring, or if you feel like it’s something you have to do. Is there a lot of social pressure in TKD to move on to those activities? If not, if it’s something you genuinely want to explore, then I say by all means do it. And don’t worry about looking like a “dork”, because I guarantee everyone else is too wrapped up in themselves, afraid of looking the same. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh gosh I’m a giant dork, SO, I signed up for patterns, and breaking, AND sparring. just because I couldn’t decide, and then I had one of those ‘I immediately regret this decision’ moments. So I emailed and asked nicely to be taken out of sparring, and so now I’m just doing two things.

    Then I was all Ugh. I get bored when I’m not doing stuff, so I signed up to help out the organisers in the afternoons, because I figure they could always use an extra hand, right?

    So now I’m doing one thing that I really like, and one thing that I’m not so sure on, because I don’t get a lot of practice at it (I listened Nikki!) so I’m going to ask if I can spend some time on it next week.

Leave a Reply

