I should just wear a target on my back. It would be less obvious that I’m the new-girl that way.

Shannon is under her desk staring intently at the mess of cables.

Suddenly, Shannon hears a noise. She pops her head out from under her desk to find her Manager, and her new boss staring at her. She awkwardly rearranges her skirt so that it’s less likely to flash thigh as she scoots back on to her chair.

“I’m working, I swear.” 

“Ah… Ok. I believe you.” 

“No really, I am. I was just trying to figure out what kept grabbing my shoes, and then there were cables, and they got tangled, and I got tangled, so I ended up having to go down there and fix it.”

“Mhm.” 

“It was kind of an OHS hazard. So really, I’m saving your guys butts from a potential lawsuit. You should be thanking me.”

“Right… Did you say you had a copy of those minutes from today?”

“I did until the photocopier ate them.”

“I’m sorry, why did we hire you again?”

“I’m really not sure. But if you figure it out, could you let me know?”

6 thoughts on “I should just wear a target on my back. It would be less obvious that I’m the new-girl that way.

  1. Well, duh: they hired you because you’re a quick thinker on your feet! Now if you could just get that Manager a sense of humor…

  2. Hahaha, no… about 50% of this conversation was in my head. he actually laughed at me, then crawled under my desk to fix it for me.

Leave a Reply

