Today’s irony: Googling Amish people on a smart phone

So today was awesome. The flat has been a little down lately, because it turns out all three of us ladies are total worry-warts.

So we devised a plan. Originally in this plan we were going to ride a giant bronze cannon while brandishing pirate swords… But we had a time deficit, so instead we dressed up like Amish people and did some gardening.

You see, we decided that we need another flat photoshoot. We’re going to do a series of family portraits. The Amish people one is our first. We’re going to do something where we’re all dressed in matching denim, and posed awkwardly, and something 80’s-tastic, and probably something rigid and Victorian, and maybe a 20’s flapper jazz club thing. Oh, and Becks has a special request for some Russian Mail-order Bride photos, which should look fabulous.

And somehow we’re going to have to integrate a purple ride-on unicorn head into the madness.

We’re thinking that will keep u cheerful and engaged for the next wee while!!

Oh, and the best bit? We’re going to print them all, and hang them in our hallway!

Other things I did this weekend:

Watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s – did you know she’s a hooker? And he’s a gigolo? Like in the book? And they just allude to it in the movie? I didn’t pick that up th first time I watched it.

I also watched Closer, and Girl Interrupted. I’m actually not a very big fan of Closer, but I do like the twist at the end. Girl interrupted is one of my favorite movies, but I find it a little unsettling sometimes. Seeing that much crazy out there… Well sometimes it’s hard not to see little bits of yourself reflected in some of the characters, and that’s kind of scary. It gets me thinking ‘what if’ questions which, while interesting, are not a good use of my mental capacity!!

Also? I baked a banana cake. And I got batter ALL over the kitchen. Yeah, I lifted the cake mixer thing up while it was still spinning and it just went EVERYWHERE. And I stood there, all covered in mashed banana and flour, wondering HOW THE HELL DID I NOT REALISE THAT WAS STILL ON? I mean, for crying out loud, it’s really noisy!

The cake was worth the half hour clean up, though. But then, most cake is.

What did you do with your weekend? Anything awesome?

One thought on “Today’s irony: Googling Amish people on a smart phone

Leave a Reply

