Who is this Will Wheaton, and why does he keep talking at me?

So I made the jump to Google Plus… although, actually it wasn’t much of a jump. I just clicked the icon above my gmail inbox. And I didn’t exactly get rid of my Facebook account either, because… Well if I did that, who would make sure my Sim’s Social lady continues to brush her teeth, and feed herself every day?

Just on that, are you guys as addicted to that game as I am? It’s boring. Ridiculously boring, and yet, I can’t seem to stop myself signing in and making sure I still have the nicest house out of all my neighbours. It’s like Snow White in the 21st century. Just imagine the poison Apple I’m going to have to send to crash Alice’s computer if she catches up to my ‘Mondo Condo’. It’ll be fairly epic.

So yes. I’m on Google+, and is it just me, or is it quiet out there. And I think it’s actually a bit closer to twitter than facebook. With all of this following of strangers. And for some reason? My entire news feed seems to be focused on Will Wheaton. Don’t ask me why, because I’m sure that there’s more to Google+ than Will Wheaton… It’s just that I haven’t figured out how to find that bit yet.

Don’t get me wrong, either, I’m not saying Google+ being pretty much 98% Will Wheaton is an especially bad thing. Will Wheaton is perfectly nice. He’s pithy, and witty, and entertaining. Everything one could hope for in a Google+ news feed (is that what they’re calling it? ‘newsfeed?’) Anyway Will Wheaton and Google+ are a perfectly nice combination, only I was really hoping for a little more… Variety? Yes. Variety.

Anyway. Are you on Google+? Is yours all Will Wheaton, all the time? How exactly do you engage with a famous person who you’ve never met via a new and scary social media platform? (Because I’m assuming that’s what I’m supposed to be doing, right? I mean, there’s no point in just sitting watching the news feed stream past your face… You’re supposed to dive on in and engage in some way… Right? Right? Wrong? And why – WHY- all of a sudden, do I feel like my 80-year-old grandmother using a mobile telephone for the first time?!

“What is this big button in the middle here? I keep trying to call my house, and every time I press it, it calls some woman telling me I can’t make any calls because of credit or something.”

6 thoughts on “Who is this Will Wheaton, and why does he keep talking at me?

  1. yay! I just joined too! I feel completely lost. 😦 We should be google+ friends 🙂

    I don’t get Will Wheaton. I get Ashton Kutcher and Dolly Parton?

  2. Haha, Awesome (and what a crazy-strange pairing!) Definitely add me! I’d give you a link to my profile, except I’m not quite sure that’s how it works… It might be how it works? Is that how it works for you?

  3. Wait are we talking Wil Wheaton from Star Trek and Stand By Me? I’m good friends with his brother. I’ve known their family since I was 10. Weird that Google + has been taken over by him… I can’t bring myself to join it yet. Too many other online distractions!

  4. Hehe, yup that’s him. It’s probably not ALL Will Wheaton. it’s just that his posts seem to be the only ones that come up in my news stream. News feed. news thing.

Leave a Reply

