I win at Bread. But not at being fit.

So this weekend I made bread. With yeast even. It’s kind of a big step for me, because I have a bit of an aversion to baking with yeast. Yeast scares me. It’s like driving a manual car: I can drive, I like driving, but I’ve only ever attempted a manual a couple of times, and they usually end with me stalled in the middle of an intersection with a delivery driver pounding the horn and yelling at me.

So yeah. I love baking, and I do it as often as I can get away with it, but breads? No thank you. Too hard. Only they’re not! I read an edmonds recipe, and then spent a minute making a few substitutions and changes that the food channel taught me, and voila! Three hours of kneading, rising, kneading, rising, and kneading later, and I had BREAD! I made it with rock salt and herbs, for extra deliciousness, and then paraded it before my follow lunchers envious eyes this afternoon.

Also? I may have told everyone that I made it myself. Two or five times. Loudly.

(The lesson for today is that bragging is good.)

Also? I spent easter Sunday walking Forever for the best Garden Centre Brunch ever. The fact that we were ravenously hungry by the time we got there made it all that much better. Five hours later we dragged ourselves up the last hill and I promptly died on the hood of my car. Early indications say it may have been a lack of fitness…. I tested the theory at the gym this lunch time, and yep after 2 minutes of running (count em – two) all the muscles in my feet fell off.

So I signed up for a box fit class tomorrow afternoon. Because, well, I can’t really afford to let myself get any unfitter. I keep reminding myself that in a years time I want a horse, and if I don’t want to have to buy a clydesdale, then I’m going to have to lose some of this frigging weight. (Also healthy body blah blah PONY!)

So what did you do over easter? Anything fun??

5 thoughts on “I win at Bread. But not at being fit.

  1. Congratulations on breadmaking! That is an elemental accomplishment.

    We had a lot of children over to hunt for eggs hidden outside. Then we ate an Easter ham that was made of salt.

  2. You totally inspired me to make bread after reading this – I made two loaves already. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

