Today I am grateful for sleep. Also trains that run three minutes behind schedule.

SassyCrop

So are we all ready for a post that does not centered around my adorable little Jack Russell Terrier Impersonator*? Yes? Too bad, because it’s not happening yet.

*I’ve decided that’s exactly what my puppy looks like running around the yard. he’s the right size, with the right markings. One can only hope and pray he grows into a real German Pointer soon. 

In the meantime, let us all now bow our heads and give thanks to sleep. Sleep is awesome.

Archer settled down with exasperated grumbling and unicorn snuggling last night again…. WITH NO CRYING. Just like the night before. It was a thing of beauty. I’ve never seen a puppy yawn passive aggressively before.

Meanwhile Batz is very much approving of the more sedate approach to bedtime. With Batz smooshed up against my pillow snoring loud enough to shake the bed, and block out a passing stock truck, and Archer giving the occasional sleep grumble… it was pretty hard not to laugh loud enough to wake the both of them.

I’m currently looking for an awesome collar for the little man. We may have our first trip to Animates ahead… there are some really neat ones on Etsy with engraved buckles and things which I’m totally coverting, but I’ll wait until he grows up for one of those… I almost wasn’t going to bother (because I’m going to use slip leads for training and you don’t need a collar with those) but then two things happened:

1.    I re-read the council dog bylaws, and he has to have his registration tags displayed on a collar when he reaches 3 months old. 

2.    This morning he totally squeezed out a hole under my gate and chased my car down the road. 

Suddenly the hunt for a collar has gained new momentum. Luckily he already has ID tags with my phone number and address on the way.

I HAVE seen awesome DYI make your own collar tutorials online, but for that I’d have to buy a sewing machine. Then use it… Despite peer pressure from the various crafters in my life, I’m not quite there yet!!

On the craft thing? I have exactly one and a half rows of a spectacularly fiddly and annoying scarf completed (here’s the pattern on Ravelry) I aim to get it to two centimetres by Christmas!! (Or I’ll abandon it because the yarn I am using is fricking annoying, and splits all the time, and makes it REALLY hard to knit.)

Perhaps sewing would be easier than knitting. And I do have a lot more rooms in my new house to fill with crap. (Ahem: Stash. My crafting mentor told me a while ago that crafters and drug users are the only people in the world who use the word stash. I’d argue that both of those groups of people display some very similar behaviors, so it’s hardly surprising the vocabulary has parallels too.)

8 thoughts on “Today I am grateful for sleep. Also trains that run three minutes behind schedule.

  1. I can totally do craft peer pressure! You’ll love a sewing machine! You’ll be able to do lots of exciting and clever and creative things – and you won’t have to soothe it to sleep at night!

    And that scarf pattern is gorgeous. I want to see the progress you’ve made. And is that me? Am I your craft mentor? I don’t think I’ve ever been called that before but I love it! And filling up your house with stash is totally a Grown Up thing to do. Think of it as the next step in Seeking Adulthood after buying a house and getting a puppy. Totally.

  2. Nope knitting it in 4ply I think… I wish they had this printed on the label! But the yarn doesnt feel quitenthin enough for 2 ply… I’ll bring it to your next craft day 🙂

  3. Totally!! Lets book after payday though, because I’m on a budget like whoa! I’ll email you a very important work related meeting invite when I get into work tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

