Inspire me…

Shannon Steven (2011)

Hi all! So, this is my inspiring jar of questions to help me with blogging!

I really miss the 30 Days of Truth challenge, because I do my best work when I’m writing on a set question. Mostly because I have a really short attention span, and I get bored just talking about what I’m doing every day. I don’t even really do all that much – there’s only so much I can say about the gym, work, and what I ate for lunch.

(As you will have noticed.)

So I grabbed this big old jar that had jelly beans in it (once upon a time) and filled it up with a bunch of questions and topics that I can blog on…

Questions like:

  • How are you doing right now? – Honestly.
  • What would your pirate name be if you were a pirate?
  • What are you awesome at?
  • You just discovered a new fear.. What is it?
  • What is your zombie survival plan?
  • What were you like at age 10?
  • What would you do today if you were 5 years old again and unsupervised?
  • What is the best dinosaur? Discuss.

Topics and writing exercises:

  • Describe yourself. (Surprisingly hard, people!!)
  • Super Hero Power.
  • Write a letter to your 98 year old self.
  • Zombies. (Discuss.)
  • Alternative Universe.
  • Do the “I am” writing exercise!

So yeah. Exciting! Of course since I’m about to leave the jar behind for a week I’ve grabbed  few to keep in my enviro diary in case I get stuck for blogging in Napier.

So do you have any questions I should add? And what do you do when you’re stuck for blogging inspiration?

6 thoughts on “Inspire me…

  1. ha. i just don’t blog when i’m stuck. which appears to be about 25 days out of every month right now 😛

  2. I had a Happy Thoughts jar in college but it was filled with encouraging notes from friends that I could read when I felt glum.

    When I get stumped, I usually am feeling very sorry for myself, so I go do something fun and then talk about it. Even if it’s just eating potato chips. I will think of ideas for your future self!

  3. The “write a letter to your 98 year old self” reminded me of something I read from a writer named Jorge Luis Borges. I’m translating it for you:

    If I could live my life again.

    In the next life I would commit more mistakes. I wouldn’t try to be so perfect. I’d relax more.
    I would be a lot more foolish than what I’ve been. In fact, I would take very few things seriously. I’d be less hygienic.I’d run more risks. Travel more. I’d see more sunsets, climb more mountains, swim more rivers. I would go to more places where I’ve never gone. I would eat more ice cream and less veggies. I would have more real problems and less imaginary ones,
    I was one of those people who lived in a prolific and sound way every minute of his life, Of course I did have moments of joy, but in case you don’t know, that’s what’s life is made of, only moments. Don’t miss the “now”.
    I was one of those that never went anywhere without a thermometer, a hot water bottle, an umbrella and a parachute. If I could live again I’d walk around barefoot in the start of spring, and would continue that way until the start of fall. I would take more merry go round rides, see more sunrises and play with more children, if I had my life ahead of me, but, as you see, I’m 85 and I know I’m dying,

    So, my letter to my 98 year old self would just be a question: “I know you’ve read Jorge, now tell me, did I live wisely?”

  4. My problem isn’t so much not having something to write about anymore, as much as it is not having the time to write about it. Damn adulthood…

Leave a comment